Short History

     Cricket was probably created during Saxon or Norman times by children living in the Weald in south-east England. The first reference to cricket being played as an adult sport was in 1611, when two men in Sussex were prosecuted for playing cricket on Sunday instead of going to church. It is generally believed that village cricket had developed by the middle of the 17th century and cricket had certainly become a significant gambling sport by the end of the 17th century. Gambling introduced the first patrons because some of the gamblers decided to strengthen their bets by forming their own "county teams". The first known game in which the teams use county names is in 1709.
     Cricket was introduced to North America via the English colonies in the 17th century, probably before it had even reached the north of England. In the 18th century it arrived in other parts of the globe, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa... In 1744, the Laws of Cricket were codified for the first time and then amended in 1774 by the so-called "Star and Garter Club". The first famous clubs were London and Dartford in the 18th century. The game underwent major development in the 18th century to become England's national sport. The first ever international cricket game was between the US and Canada in 1844, in 1859, a team of leading English professionals set off to North America on the first-ever overseas tour.
     A significant development in domestic cricket occurred in 1890 when the official County Championship was constituted in England. This organisational initiative has been repeated in other countries, in Australia, South Africa, New Zealand and India. Cricket was an Olympic sport at the 1900 Summer Olympics. The Imperial Cricket Conference (now the International Cricket Council (ICC)) was founded in 1909, only with England, Australia and South Africa as members. The first limited-overs international match took place in 1971. The ICC reacted to this development by organising the first Cricket World Cup in England in 1975. Cricket's newest innovation, Twenty20, World Cup tournament was held since 2007.