FIBA Oceania

Short History

     FIBA Oceania is responsible for controlling and developing the sport of basketball in Oceania, within the International Basketball Federation (FIBA). It is one of five Regions of FIBA which currently includes 22 national Oceania basketball federations. In 1967, in the meeting in Western Australia, it was discussed to form an Oceania Basketball zone. In 1968, at FIBA Congress in Mexico, Al Ramsay and Lance Cross spoke and Oceania Basketball Confederation (OBC) was officially recognised by FIBA as a World Zone.
     The first official meeting of the Oceania Basketball Confederation (OBC) was held in 1969 in Papua New Guinea. In 2002, with the One Family concept, Oceania Basketball Confederation (OBC) was renamed FIBA Oceania. The first Oceania Championship for men was held in 1971, and for women in 1974. However, both Oceania Championships held their last editions in 2015. Since then, FIBA Oceania national teams compete in the FIBA Asia Cup, for men, and FIBA Women's Asia Cup, for women. From 2017, FIBA Oceania national teams compete at FIBA Asia youth events.

Formation                     - ? 1969
Founded at                   - ?
Headquarters               - Southport, Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Region served              - Oceania
Membership                - 22 national associations
Official language         - English
President                      - Burton Shipley
Parent organization    - FIBA
Website                         -