FIBA SuproLeague

Short History

     The FIBA SuproLeague was a basketball competition for European clubs that was governed by FIBA Europe. It was the FIBA European Champions' Cup for the 2000/01 season. Because FIBA had never trademarked the "EuroLeague" name, Euroleague Basketball used it without any legal ramifications, therefore, FIBA had to find a new name for their league and chose "SuproLeague". The 2000/01 season had two separate top European professional club basketball competitions and top clubs were also split between the two leagues. It is today officially admitted that European basketball had two champions that year. The next year it was decided that Euroleague Basketball's EuroLeague competition would be the main basketball tournament on the continent and teams that competed in the FIBA SuproLeague joined it as well.



Edition Year Host Date Teams Matches
1. 2000/01 Paris
18 Oct 2000 - 13 May 2001 20 teams 213 matches

Final positions

Edition Year Host Champions Runners-up Third place
1. 2000/01 Paris
Efes Pilsen


Edition Year Host Final 3. place play-off Semi-finals
1. 2000/01 Paris
Maccabi Tel Aviv - Panathinaikos 81-67 Efes Pilsen - CSKA Moscow 91-85 Maccabi Tel Aviv - CSKA Moscow 86-80
Panathinaikos - Efes Pilsen 74-66