Short History

     The International Basketball Federation, more commonly known by the French acronym FIBA, is an association of national organisations which governs the sport of basketball worldwide. Although Dr. James Naismith is recognized for inventing the game of basketball in December 1891, it wasn't until June 18, 1932, in Geneva, that an international federation concerned with just basketball was formed. Its original name was Fédération Internationale de Basketball Amateur, and eight nations were founding members: Argentina, Czechoslovakia, Greece, Italy, Latvia, Portugal, Romania and Switzerland. Léon Bouffard, who was one of the men who made every effort to create a body, was the first president of FIBA, and the interpreter invited for the event, R. William Jones, showed such a large understanding and had such good ideas that he was elected General Secretary on the spot.
     On February 28, 1935, the FIBA was officially recognized by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) helping clear the way for men's basketball to become part of the 1936 Berlin Summer Olympic Games, although a demonstration tournament was held in 1904. During that tournament, the Federation named James Naismith, the founder of basketball, as its Honorary President. While FIBA's membership and its international rules have changed over the years, perhaps the biggest change within FIBA occurred April 8, 1989, when FIBA opened competition, eliminating the distinction between amateur and professional and making all players eligible for FIBA competitions, including players competing in the NBA. At this point, the Fédération Internationale de Basketball Amateur became the Fédération Internationale de Basketball, but retained FIBA as its abbreviation.
     The Federation headquarters moved to Munich in 1956, then returned to Geneva in 2002. During its 81st anniversary in 2013, FIBA moved into its new headquarters, "The House of Basketball", at Mies, on the outskirts of Geneva, Switzerland. FIBA has organized a World Championship, now known as World Cup, for men since 1950 and a Women's World Championship, now known as the Women's World Cup, since 1953. Since 1989 FIBA has been organized into five zones: Africa, Americas, Asia, Europe, and Oceania. Today, a total of 213 national federations are now members, and FIBA holds several different tournaments for men and women of different age categories, as well as 3x3 tournaments.

Formation                - 18 June 1932
Founded at              - Geneva, Switzerland
Headquarters          - Mies, Switzerland
Region served         - Worldwide
Membership           - 213 national associations
Official language    - English, French
President                 - Hamane Niang
Affiliations               - International Olympic Committee
Motto                       - We Are Basketball
Website                    -



FIBA’s Confederations