Short History

     The European Handball Federation (EHF) is responsible for controlling and developing the sport of handball, beach handball and wheelchair handball in Europe, within the International Handball Federation (IHF). It is one of six Regions of IHF which currently includes 50 national European handball federations. EHF was founded on 17 November 1991 in Berlin. The first EHF Congress, the highest body of the federation, convened on 5 June 1992 and assigned its headquarters to Vienna from 1 September. It has expanded from the initial 29 to its current 50 members, and holds several different tournaments for men and women of different age categories, such as the Men’s and Women’s European Championships and the EHF Champions League, plus promote of additional forms of the game, beach and wheelchair handball.

Formation                     - 17 November 1991
Founded at                   - Berlin, Germany
Headquarters               - Vienna, Austria
Region served              - Europe
Membership                - 50 national associations
Official language         - English
President                      - Michael Wiederer
Parent organization    - IHF
Website                         -