Short History

     The Confederation of African Football began its formation at the 29th FIFA Congress in Bern, Switzerland, in June 1954. Africa was represented at the Congress by Egypt, Sudan, Ethiopia and South Africa, and was recognised as a zonal group with a right to have for the first time a representative on the FIFA Executive Committee. This representation was taken up by Engineer Abdel Aziz Abdallah Salem of Egypt. The African delegation from Egypt, Sudan and South Africa at the Congress in Lisbon 1956, decided among other things to create an African Football Confederation and to organise a competition among countries beginning from 1957 in Khartoum, Sudan, where the statutes and regulations of the new body would be drawn.
     The Constitutional Assembly of CAF took place on February 8, 1957, in attendance were representatives from Egypt, Ethiopia, Sudan and South Africa. Engineer Salem was elected first CAF President, and the first African Cup of Nations kicked off on February 10 without South Africa, who were disqualified after they failed to present a multi-racial team. In 1957 the headquarters of CAF was removed in Cairo, Egypt, in 1963 the continent was divided into six geographical zones and a new competition for clubs the African Cup of Champions Clubs was founded. The CAF is responsible for the association football, futsal and beach soccer within Africa, and today has 55 members split into six zones.

Formation                     - 10 February 1957
Headquarters               - 6th of October City, Cairo, Egypt
Region served              - Africa
Membership                - 56 national associations
Official language         - English, French, Arabic
President                      - Ahmad Ahmad
Parent organization    - FIFA
Website                         -



CAF’s Confederations