Short History

     The Asian Football Confederation was founded on 8 May 1954 in Manila, Philippines, on the sidelines of the second Asian Games. Afghanistan, Burma, Republic of China (Chinese Taipei), Hong Kong, Iran, India, Israel, Indonesia, Japan, South Korea, Pakistan, Philippines, Singapore and South Vietnam were founding members. The AFC is the governing body of Asian association football, futsal and beach soccer, and one of the six confederations making up FIFA. It has 47 member associations splitting into five regions, with Australia who joined the AFC in 2006. The Asian Cup is the second oldest football competition in the world, with the first edition in Hong Kong in 1956. The AFC is now headquartered in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

Formation                     - 8 May 1954
Founded at                   - Manila, Philippines
Headquarters               - Bukit Jalil, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Region served              - Asia
Membership                - 47 national associations
Official language         - English, Arabic
President                      - Salman Bin Ibrahim Al-Khalifa
Parent organization    - FIFA
Website                         -



AFC’s Confederations