CONCACAF Nations League

Short History

     The CONCACAF Nations League is an international association football event for the senior men's national teams in North America, Central America and the Caribbean region. The format proposals were first formally investigated at the Congress in Oranjestad, Aruba on 8 April 2017 and confirmed by CONCACAF on 16 November 2017. CONCACAF President Victor Montagliani stated that the purpose of the competition is to have a regular schedule of international fixtures for CONCACAF's national teams, noting that some teams play fewer than 10 games in a four-year period and need more competitive games to assist the sport's development in those nations.
     The concept of the CONCACAF Nations League would see member associations' national teams divided into three divisions (called "Leagues"), where they would be promoted and relegated to other divisions according to their results within the group, while in the top league the winners of the four groups go on to play in the Nations League Finals. The tournament takes place on dates allocated for international friendlies on the FIFA International Match Calendar. The tournament will also determine which national teams qualify for the next edition of the CONCACAF Gold Cup. The first tournament began in September 2019, and the four group winners from League A qualified for the finals, which was originally to be held in June 2020. But, the tournament was postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic for June 2021.



Edition Year Host Date Nations Matches Venues Cities
1. 2019/20 ? ? June 2021 4 nations 4 matches ? venues ? cities

Final positions

Edition Year Host Champions Runners-up Third place
1. 2019/20 ?


Edition Year Host Final 3. place play-off Semi-finals
1. 2019/20 ?