NAFC Championship

Short History

     The NAFC Championship was an association football tournament organized by the NAFC for teams in the area of North America. There were only two editions in 1947 and 1949, and Cuba, Mexico, and the United States participated in both editions of the tournament. In the first edition the United State Football Soccer Federation chose to send Ponta Delgada S.C., an amateur team instead of a national team. The second edition tournament served both as a regional championship as well as the regional qualification tournament for the 1950 FIFA World Cup.



Edition Year Host Date Nations Matches Venues Cities
1. 1947 Cuba 13 - 20 July 1947 3 nations 3 matches 1 venue 1 city
2. 1949 Mexico 4 - 25 September 1949 3 nations 6 matches 1 venue 1 city

Final positions

Edition Year Host Champions Runners-up Third place
1. 1947 Cuba MEXICO Cuba United States
2. 1949 Mexico MEXICO United States Cuba


Edition Year Host Round-robin group
1. 1947 Cuba 1. Mexico 2. Cuba, 3. United States
2. 1949 Mexico 1. Mexico 2. United States, 3. Cuba