Short History

     CONCACAF was founded on 18 September 1961 in Mexico City, Mexico, with the merger of the North American Football Confederation (NAFC) and the Football Confederation of Central America and the Caribbean (CCCF), which made it one of six continental confederations affiliated with FIFA. Canada, Costa Rica, Cuba, El Salvador, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Netherlands Antilles, Nicaragua, Panama, Suriname and the United States were founding members. The first leader of CONCACAF was Costa Rican Ramón Coll Jaumet, who had overseen the merger between the NAFC and the CCCF.
     CONCACAF consists of three sub-regions and have 41 members: North America (3 Member Associations under the regional entity the North American Football Union (NAFU), which is non-operational), Central America (7 Member Associations under the regional entity the Unión Centroamericana de Fútbol (UNCAF)), and the Caribbean (31 Member Associations under the regional entity the Caribbean Football Union (CFU)). Three geographically South American entities are also members. CONCACAF is the governing body of football, futsal and beach soccer in these regions.

Formation                     - 18 September 1961
Founded at                   - Mexico City, Mexico
Headquarters               - Miami, Florida, United States
Region served              - North America, Central America and the Caribbean
Membership                - 41 national associations
Official language         - English, French, Spanish, Dutch
President                      - Victor Montagliani
Parent organization    - FIFA
Website                         -



CONCACAF’s Confederations