Short History

     In 1916, the first edition of the "Campeonato Sudamericano de Fútbol", now known as the "Copa América", was contested in Argentina. The four participating associations of that tournament gathered together in Buenos Aires in order to officially create a governing body to facilitate the organization of the tournament. Thus, CONMEBOL was founded on 9 July 1916 under the initiative of Uruguayan Héctor Rivadavia Gómez, but approved by the football associations of Argentina, Brazil, Chile, and Uruguay. The first Congress on 15 December of that same year, which took place in Montevideo, ratified the decision.
     Over the years, the other football associations in South America joined, with the last being Venezuela in 1952. The South American Football Confederation (CONMEBOL) is the continental governing body of football, futsal and beach soccer in South America, and it is one of FIFA's six continental confederations. The oldest continental confederation in the world, its headquarters are located in Luque, Paraguay. With ten member nations, CONMEBOL is the smallest and the only fully continental land-based FIFA confederation.

Formation                     - 9 July 1916
Headquarters               - Luque (Gran Asunción), Paraguay
Region served              - South America
Membership                - 10 national associations
Official language         - Spanish, Portuguese
President                      - Alejandro Domínguez
Parent organization    - FIFA
Website                         -